News Flash


Posted on: June 29, 2018

Firework Restrictions


Utah law regarding firework restrictions have changed this year. Due to dry weather and the threat of wildfires, fireworks may be prohibited in certain areas. Those who violate the restrictions may face a fine of up to $1,000.

Fireworks can be set off legally in allowed areas from July 2 through July 5 and from July 22 through July 25. Fireworks are allowed from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. each day and until midnight on July 4 (Independence Day) and July 24 (Pioneer Day).

Following are some more safety tips:

Fireworks may be discharged in approved areas only.

Only Class C state approved fireworks are approved for residential and recreational use.

No fireworks discharge shall be allowed within the distance of 150 ft. of the fireworks stand or trailer.

Parents are strongly encouraged to supervise their children while using fireworks.

Keep a bucket of water nearby to place spent fireworks in for at least 12 hours before discarding into a garbage can.

An individual who negligently, recklessly, or intentionally causes or spreads a fire through discharge of a class C explosive is liable for the cost of suppressing that fire and any damages the fire causes. Utah Code § 53-7-225.1.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Home